Browns and Lippelt

Starke County


Community Foundation Summer Scholarships for 2014-2015

Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship applications will be available in the next few months. For more information contact.

QUESTIONS?  Contact Alison Heyde, the Northern Indiana Community Foundation scholarship coordinator at 574-223-2227 or toll free at 877-432-6423 or

Starke County Community Foundation Endowment Scholarships
Applications available by November 2014.

The Starke County Community Foundation supports more than 20 Starke County college students each year, with total annual scholarships averaging $50,000.

High school seniors and college student who meet individualize criteria for each scholarship are awarded these scholarship that were established by donors who care about Starke County students.

Online applications will be available by December of 2014, with a March 2015 deadline.

Starke County Scholarships:

Altman Family Scholarship -
Back Home Again in Indiana-
LaVergne M. Brown & Lois L. Spenner Educational Scholarship -For qualified students graduating from North Judson-San Pierre High School who are likely to succeed as college or university students in the field of education.
Helen and Ware Edgar Scholarship - For Starke County students pursing a career in journalism.
Richard H. Gumz Agricultural Scholarship - Starke County students attending Purdue University and pursuing a degree in an agricultural related field of study.
Hamblin Scholarship In Honor Of Eleanor G. Hamblin - For qualified students who are graduating from Knox High School.
Ed Hasnerl/WKVI Scholarship - Graduating seniors, who are Starke County Residents, studying history, arts, communications or media related subjects.
Nella Kersting Memorial Scholarship - Scholarships for qualified students graduating from North Judson-San Pierre High School who are likely to succeed as college, university, trade or vocational school students.
Knox VFW Post 748 Men's Auxiliary Scholarship - Graduating seniors of Knox, North Judson-San Pierre, and Oregon-Davis High School. Must have been accepted into and attend a vocational school, accredited two- or four-year public or private institutions.
Clarence Lawrence Memorial Fund - Scholarships to qualified students graduating from North Judson-San Pierre High School, Knox High School or Oregon-Davis High School.
James and Carris Lucas Scholarship - Knox High School graduating seniors pursuing a degree either in education or a science related field.
Ken Lucas Memorial Scholarship - Graduating seniors from North Judson-San Pierre High School pursing a degree in a math related field.
Physicians Hospital System Visionary Scholarship - For Starke or Marshall County Indiana High School students plannning to attend an accredited two or four year college, university or vocational school.
Runkle Family Fund - For graduating Knox High School seniors planning to attend vocational school, accredited two or four year public or private institutions.
Megan Elytha Jean Sahlhoff Music Scholarship - Graduating North Judson-San Pierre High School seniors who are pursuing a career with a major or minor in the field of music or a music related field.
Dorothy Shei Scholaship - Graduating seniors of Knox High School, who were residents of Starke County Indiana.
Winifred J. Simpkins/Spirit of Nursing Scholarship - Starke County residents enrolled in an accredited registered nursing program in Indiana.
Starke Memorial Hospital and Medical Staff Health Occupation/Medical Education Scholarship - For Starke County residents pursuing a career in a health field.
Steve L. Toth and Donna M. Toth Family Fund - For Starke County residents and graduating seniors of Oregon Davis High School.
Christine and David VanVactor Scholarship - Students graduating from Knox High School or Oregon Davis High School. Preference will be given to those applicants who plan to pursue a degree in Construction Management or building trades.
1897 Charley Vorm Memorial Scholarship - Graduating seniors of North Judson-San Pierre High School.
Forrest and Helen Whitson Scholarship - For sophomore, junior or senior students at Purdue University in a School of Engineering, Agriculture or Consumer and Family Living, who have graduated from a Starke County High School.
Robert O. and Doris E. Winters Scholarship - For students graduating from Knox Community High School.
Carl and Josephine Wozniak Scholarship- For students attending Purdue University, with particular attention being given to those students who are graduating seniors of Oregon-Davis High School.